T.H. Estabrooks Tea Company was founded in 1894. The Red Rose brand was born in 1899 when Theodore Estabrooks met M.R. Miles, a member of a prestigious tea taster family from England. They created a unique blend of Indian and Sri Lanken teas. The Red Rose Tea building was built in 1903, and is the sole surviving example of Saint John`s 19th century tea industry. The 5 storey plant was described as the largest tea warehouse in Canada built specifically for blending, packing and shipping teas , and employed 70 people. A multi-phased exterior restoration project is underway to ensure this waterfront landmark property remains in good repair.
The old Union Depot in Leavenworth, Kansas, designed by Chicago architects Cobb and Frost and built in 1887 - 88 by James A. McGonigle, has a new lease on life. It now serves as a community center providing fitness facilities and a special events venue. The current phase of exterior restoration includes extensive masonry restoration and replacement of the deteriorated sandstone. Old World Stone is working with Mid-Continental Restoration from Fort Scott, KS and TreanorHL, architects from their Topeka, KS office, to systematically replace 177 Berea sandstone units weighing in at over 50 tons total. Special attention to matching the tooled finish details and replicating the missing carved elements has been ongoing.
Interested in other projects by Mid-Continental Restoration? Please click here.
The entire ground floor of this four-storey historic commercial property had been removed and “modernized” by a previous owner. Old World Stone worked closely with the masonry team who provided accurate templates for the window head and jamb profiles. Adjacent properties with similar details provided the necessary sculptural and profile details. The resulting façade is almost indiscernible from the originals. Thirty-four tons of finished St Bees sandstone was shipped to the site.
The tower was built in 1913 as a memorial to former university trustee and U.S. President Grover Cleveland. This 173 foot tall tower and graduate college was designed in the Collegiate Gothic style by renowned architect Ralph Adams Cram. After almost a century, corrosion of steel dowel and anchorage devices caused cracking and breakage of finials and pinnacles atop the tower. The fall hazards were addressed by replacing 90 stones and installing stainless steel dowels. Matching Indiana limestone was sourced for this project.
St Bees sandstone was used for the preservation of these six adjacent government office facades which overlook the White House lawn. Replacement stone was provided for landings, thresholds, treads, stringers, balusters, ramp & twist handrails, and newel posts, which accurately replicated the missing or damaged originals.
The Ivy Club is Princeton’s oldest eating club and the hub of activity for its members. Old World Stone fabricated all of the St Bees sandstone for the Great Hall addition including window and door surrounds with batted tooling to match the historic original building. The terrace and staircase were also included. The fireplace is Cordova limestone from Texas.